My dad let me name his company Raiders…

When I was 7 or 8 years old my dad was in the process of starting his own company. We had just finished watching Raiders of the Lost Ark (no idea which one) and it terrified me. To this day I hate these movies!  My dad and step-monster where in the garage talking. I remember entering the garage and my dad was sitting on a stool holding the phone book.  I asked what he was doing and he told me that he was trying to come up with a name for his new pest  control company (this was the 80’s before the internet made everyone’s life easier). I asked what about Raiders and he jumped up and declared that it would be Raiders Pest Control. He even was able to get the phone number 666-Bugs!  He told everyone that I named the company. He would later start Raiders Courier Service to add to the Raiders family!

He sold Raiders Pest Control in 1994 when he left for Jamaica and my grandmother continued with Raiders Courier Service for several years until she could no longer work. 

Leave a Reply

